English Muffin Bread

English muffins were one of my favorite breakfasts growing up.  Slather them with butter, jelly, honey, cinnamon sugar, or cream cheese, and I was a happy girl.  When I found a recipe for English muffin bread, I jumped on it.  I had to change it up in order to get it to what I considered a loaf of English muffins, but it was so worth it!  The best part is, you can make two loaves for probably about 50 cents, instead of buying a bag of English muffins for $4.00!

Recipe – Makes 2 loaves

2  3/4 c warm water

1 1/2 packages yeast (this came out to about 4  1/2 t from my jar)

1 T salt

2 T sugar

5 1/2 c flour (I used all-purpose, but you can use bread flour too)

2 T butter, melted

Instructions

  1. Mix everything except the butter together well in a bowl.  It will be a very sticky dough.
  2. Allow to rise in the bowl until it’s doubled in size.
  3. Separate the dough into two greased loaf pans.
  4. Allow to rise until the dough reaches the top of the loaf pan.
  5. Bake at 350° for 35 to 45 minutes, until the top is golden brown.
  6. About ten minutes before it’s ready, use a basting brush to brush melted butter on the top of the loaves.
  7. Allow to cool completely on a cooling rack before slicing into the loaves.

Tips

  • I like to set my oven to as low as it can go (for mine, it’s 170°) and put the bread in there to rise.  This works well for the second rise, but if you’re going to do it with the first rise, make sure to use a hot pad when you pull it out to separate into the two loaves!
One thought on “English Muffin Bread

  1. I’ve made this bread many, many times. My recipe makes four loaves, which is one of the reasons I love it so much! Plenty to keep for yourself, plenty to share! This bread freezes very well.

Leave a Reply

