Spaghetti Sauce

I LOVE spaghetti.  Well, really, carbs in general.  But spaghetti has always been one of my favorites, especially with my mom’s sauce.  The best part about her sauce is, you make a huge vat of it, freeze it, and you can use it in my ziti recipe (soon to come), spaghetti, on homemade pizza, or anywhere else you would use a marinara sauce.

Recipe – Makes approximately 12 quarts (or 48 cups… so plan to freeze a lot!)

2- 6 lb 6oz crushed tomatoes

2- 28 oz tomato puree

3/4 c parsley flakes

1/3 c dried basil leaves (1 c if using fresh)

1/2 c dried oregano (1 c if using fresh)

1/4 c minced onion

4 t chili powder

3 T sugar

3 bay leaves

1 1/2 T Worcestershire sauce

3 T salt

2 cloves garlic, minced

Lots of pepperoni sliced, quartered

Instructions

  1. Combine all ingredients in a large pot.
  2. Cook over medium heat until it reaches a boil.
  3. Lower heat to low.
  4. Simmer for 6-8 hours, stirring every half hour or so.
  5. Take out however much you’d like for dinner into another pot and add the pepperoni to taste.

This is what I mean by a "vat" of sauce.

Tips

  • If you crush the spices like oregano and basil between your palms as you put it in the sauce (or any other recipe), it’ll bring out the flavor of dried spices better.  I don’t do this with parsley in this recipe because I like the green color to be in larger pieces, but that’s just a personal preference!
  • I only put pepperoni in the sauce I want to use for spaghetti the night I make it, and then just add it in as I defrost it for spaghetti later.  That way, if I decide to use it for ziti or pizza, I don’t have the extra ingredient in there.
  • I freeze it in the amounts I need for my ziti, pizza, spaghetti, etc. and label them as such (“ziti,” “pizza,” “spaghetti for x people”)
One thought on “Spaghetti Sauce

  1. Pingback: Baked Ziti | Pretty as a Peach

Leave a Reply

