Christmastime Stovetop Potpourri

I LOVE the smell of Christmas.  To me, Christmas is a spicy-sweet smell, like that of gingerbread or pine.  Unfortunately, we found out that I’m allergic to pine so having a real tree in our house is probably not the best idea (even though I’m a hard-core real tree person).  That left me to figure out a way to make the house smell like Christmastime, without my usual aid of a real tree.  I found a recipe for stovetop potpourri and altered it a little.  It’s super, super easy to make and seriously makes your entire house smell WONDERFUL.

Recipe

1/2 c fresh cranberries

1-2 Clementine oranges, quartered

1 T whole cloves

3-4 cinnamon sticks

potful of water

Instructions

  1. Find a small pot (I bought one at Ross for $7) that you don’t mind leaving on the stove for the Christmas season.
  2. Throw all the ingredients into the pot
  3. Fill the rest of the pot with water
  4. Put on the stove on the lowest temperature possible
  5. Enjoy!

Tips

  • Make sure you never let it use up all of the water.  I usually refill it anytime I turn it on, to be on the safe side.
  • If you can’t bear the thought of using a Clementine for this instead of eating (I understand entirely!), using two Clementines-worth of peel will work just fine, too.

PS: I realize it’s still a week and a half before Thanksgiving, but my husband doesn’t get much Christmas in December so we decided to start early!

Leave a Reply

